Thelma Hunter Gender and Politics PhD Prize

The Thelma Hunter Women and Politics PhD Prize replaces the Women and Politics Essay Prize from 2018. It will be presented biennially, alternating with the Carole Pateman Gender and Politics Book Prize. The award will be offered in 2020.

The prize is presented for the best PhD awarded at an Australian university on the topic of gender and/or women and politics broadly defined. The winner is decided by a committee established by the Women’s Caucus of APSA. It will include a previous award winner where possible and appropriate. 


Thelma Hunter Gender and Politics PhD Prize 2020: Closed for Nominations.

Call for Nominations – Friday 22 May 2020 

Closing Date for Nominations – Friday 26 June 2020

Winner Announcement – APSA 2020 AGM

Commission of Winner's Trophy  – APSA 2021 Annual Conference Dinner


The criteria used in judging entries are:

  • The prize will recognise a PhD of distinction in the field of gender and/or women and politics, broadly defined, submitted at an Australian University.
  • Supervisors will be invited to submit for consideration for the Thelma Hunter Award dissertations awarded to their PhD students in the previous two academic years.
  • A dissertation is eligible for the competition if the examiners have passed it in the two-year period up to the 31 December of the year prior to the nomination.

Conditions of entry:

  • Competition is open to PhD students who are Australian residents and who completed their PhD at an Australian tertiary institution.
  • An electronic PDF version of the dissertation should be submitted to the APSA Executive Assistant by the due date (to be advised by APSA every entry year).
  • The entry form should be accompanied by an electronic copy of the thesis, together with an electronic copy of all examiners’ reports for the thesis.
  • Eligible theses will be sent to the judging committee panel. The APSA Women’s Caucus Executive member will chair the judging panel (or a delegate if there is a conflict of interest), and will consist of at least two other women caucus members or gender and politics experts, all of whom will be members of APSA. The judging committee panel will rely both upon the examiners’ reports and their own reading of the thesis to make their determination. Each judge will write a report on the theses under consideration.  
  • The winner of the prize will be announced at APSA 2020 AGM. The prize of $1000 ($250 from the APSA Gender and Women and Politics PhD Prize award scheme, and $250 from the Thelma Hunter bequest, and $500 from APSA) and a trophy will be awarded at the 2021 APSA Conference dinner.