Henry Mayer Book Prize for Australian Politics

The Henry Mayer Book Prize for Australian Politics is awarded biennially. This award will be offered again in 2021.  

This prize is offered biennially by the Australian Political Studies Association for the best book on Australian politics (including political history) published during the previous two years. It is funded by income generated by the APSA endowment established, in 2009, by the Henry Mayer Trust.

Conditions of entry

  1. It is prefered that the author is a member of APSA, but this is not a requirement. 
  2. The monograph may be single- or jointly-authored, however edited books are not eligible.
  3. The book must have been published by a university or commercial publisher in the preceding two years. For the 2021 Prize, this means a publication date of 2019 or 2020. 
  4. Publishers may nominate one book, and a book may only be submitted once for the prize.
  5. Authors can self-nominate or be nominated by another person.
  6. APSA reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year.
  7. The winner will be invited to the APSA Annual Conference dinner to receive a trophy and cheque for $1000.

A member of the APSA Executive will chair the judging panel, which will consist of at least three people and aim to include at least one woman. All judges will be members of APSA. Where possible, past winners will be encouraged to participate in the judging process for future awards. Except where such a nomination might give rise to a perceived conflict of interest, the panel will also include a fourth person nominated by the Mayer Trust. No one who is nominated for the prize, who has nominated someone else for the prize, or who has a relationship with anyone nominated for the prize will be eligible to sit on the panel.


Submission Guidelines 

A digital copy - ebook, PDF, download link(s) - of the eligible book should be emailed to the APSA Executive Assistant.   

If a digital copy is not possible, please contact the APSA Executive Assistant as soon as possible to make alternate arrangements. 


Past winners of the Henry Mayer Book Prize: 

2019: Paul Strangio, Paul ‘T Hart & James Walter, The Pivot of Power: Australian Prime Ministers and Political Leadership, 1949–2016, Melbourne University Press, 2017

2017: Sarah Ferguson & Patricia Drum, The Killing Season Uncut, Melbourne University Press, 2016.

2015: Stephen Mills (University of Sydney), The Professionals: Strategy, Money and the Rise of the Political Campaigner in Australia, Melbourne: Black Inc, 2014.

2013: Paul Strangio (Monash University), Neither Power Nor Glory: 100 Years of Political Labor in Victoria, 1856 – 1956, Melbourne: Melbourne University Press, 2012.

2011: James Walter (Monash University), What Were They Thinking? The Politics of Ideas in Australia, Sydney: UNSW Press, 2010.

2009: Joint Prize: Sarah Maddison (University of New South Wales), Black Politics: Inside the Complexity of Aboriginal Political Culture, Crows Nest: Allen & Unwin, 2008;
David McKnight (University of New South Wales), Beyond Right and Left: New Politics and the Culture Wars, Crows Nest: Allen & Unwin, 2007.