Crisp Prize

The Crisp Prize is biennial, and alternates with the Henry Mayer Book Prize. The Prize is awarded for the best scholarly book on political science written by an APSA member within 10 years of gaining a PhD. The Prize is open to APSA members who are resident in Australia. The award will be offered in 2020.

A judging panel chaired by a member of the APSA Executive will award the prize. This panel will consist of at least three people, all of whom will be members of APSA. It will include a previous award winner where possible and appropriate.

A call for nominations will be circulated to members of APSA and to the major publishers operating in Australia by the Executive Assistant. Nominations can be made by any APSA member (including the author of the book).

Nominators/authors are responsible for ensuring that electronic copies of the book are made available to APSA for distribution to members of the judging panel. The winner of the prize will be announced at APSA 2020 AGM. The prize of $1000 and a trophy will be awarded at the 2021 APSA Conference dinner.


Crisp Prize 2020Closed for Nominations

Call for Nominations – Friday 22 May 2020 (Any nominations received earlier will not be accepted).

Closing Date for Nominations – Friday 26 June 2020. 

Winner Announcement – APSA 2020 AGM

Commission of Winner's Trophy and Prize – APSA 2021 Annual Conference Dinner


To enter: complete the Crisp Prize 2020 Nomination Form and email with a PDF or four electronic copies (if your copies are download codes or ebooks) of the nominated book to Please do not submit anything until the award is announced in 2020.

Please contact the APSA National Office if you have any questions.


Past Winners: 

2018: Peter Tangney, Climate Adaptation Policy and Evidence: Understanding the Tensions between Politics and Expertise in Public Policy, Earthscan/Routledge.

  • Highly Commended: Peter Balint, Respecting Toleration: Traditional Liberalism & Contemporary Diversity, Oxford University Press.

2016: Luke Glanville, Sovereignty and the Responsibility to Protect: A New History, University of Chicago Press.