Carole Pateman Prize

Carole Pateman Gender and Politics Book Prize

The Carole Pateman Book Prize is awarded biennially. It was awarded in 2019, and will next be offered in 2021.

This prize is for the best book published in the specified eligibility period on the topic of gender and politics, broadly defined.

Criteria on which entries will be judged

  1. Significance of contribution to gender and politics research through effective incorporation of gender or feminist perspectives into political science.
  2. Excellence in writing and communication.
  3. Scholarly innovation and rigor.

Conditions of entry

  1. The author may of any gender identification, but must be a member of APSA (if the book has multiple authors, one of the authors must be an APSA member);
  2. The monograph may be single- or jointly-authored, however edited books are not eligible.
  3. The book must have been published by a university or commercial publisher in the preceding two years. For the 2021 Prize, this means a publication date of 2020 or 2019.
  4. A book may only be submitted once for the prize.
  5. Authors can self-nominate or be nominated by another person.
  6. APSA reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year.
  7. The winner will be invited to the APSA Annual Conference dinner to receive a trophy and cheque for $1000.

The APSA Women’s Caucus Executive will chair the judging panel (or a delegate if there is a conflict of interest), and the panel will consist of two other gender and politics experts, including, if possible, a former Carole Pateman book prize winner. 


Past Carole Pateman Prize Winners

2019: Laura J. Shepherd, University of Sydney, Gender, UN Peacebuilding and the Politics of Space: Locating Legitimacy (Oxford University Press)

2017: Louise Chappell, University of NSW, The Politics of Gender Justice at the International Criminal Court: Legacies and Legitimacy (Oxford University Press)

2015: Jacqui True, Monash University, The Political Economy of Violence Against Women (Oxford University Press)