APSA ANZSOG Policy Studies Prize

The ANZSOG (Australia and New Zealand School of Government) Policy Studies Prize is awarded annually to the best peer reviewed article, with a Policy Studies (public policy, social policy, public management, governance) focus, accepted by a journal in the previous calendar year (Thus, the prize awarded in 2020 will be accepted by a journal between July 25, 2019  and July 25, 2020).


ANZSOG Policy Studies Prize 2020

Call for Nominations – Friday 22 May 2020

Closing Date for Nominations – Friday 26 June 2020 

Winner Announcement – APSA 2020 AGM

Commission of Winner's Trophy and Prize – APSA 2021 Annual Conference Dinner


Submission guidelines:

  • To be eligible for the prize, the author must be a postgraduate or early career researcher (within their first five years postdoc, however, we are happy to accommodate significant career interruptions). He/she must also be working or studying at an Australian university (or working outside the higher education sector for those who are between academic appointments).
  • Submissions should be sent to the APSA Policy Studies Research Group Chair, via email (Siobhan O’Sullivan, University of NSW - siobhan.osullivan@unsw.edu.au). 
  • The submission should include a copy of the paper and a brief, 100-word statement about the reasons for the nomination.
  • The winner of the prize will be announced at APSA annual conference dinner, where a prize of A$1000 and a trophy will be awarded. 


The judging process

  • A Selection Committee will consist of two nominees on behalf of ANZSOG and two nominees on behalf of the Policy Studies Research Group. Each group should nominate one female-identifying Policy Studies scholar and one male-identifying Policy Studies scholar. Other diversities are strongly encouraged.
  • The Chair of the Policy Studies Research Group will also be the Chair of the Prize Committee.
  • Each member of the Committee will be asked to read and rank the articles. independently from each other and to submit their rankings to the Policy Studies Research Group Chair. This information will be distributed to the Prize Committee by the Policy Studies Research Group Chair prior to the Prize Committee making a final decision.
  • In the event that the Prize Committee cannot come to an agreement via deliberation then a vote shall be taken. In the case that this vote ends in a tie then the APSA Policy Studies Research Group Chair shall have a casting vote. 


Past winners: 

2019 (joint award):

  • Dr. Prudence Brown, ‘Understanding barriers to new approaches – a case study from Australian remote indigenous policy‘.
  • Catherine Cochrane, ‘Boundary making in anti-corruption policy: Behaviour, responses and institutions‘.