Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is made in special circumstances following a recommendation to the Executive Committee by any member of APSA.  It is awarded to an Australian political scientist for exceptional long-term dedication to the discipline.

The Award is given in recognition of a lifetime's achievement.  Normally, the nominated individual would no longer be in full-time employment.

  1. There is no requirement to make an annual award.
  2. There is no fixed definition of 'achievement,' but normally the individual will have made a significant contribution to the development of political studies in Australia and command an international reputation. Thus, and as an example only, we would expect the successful nominee to have published at least two internationally significant books over the course of his or her career.
  3. Nominations must include both a statement of the case for the award and the CV of the nominated individual. Nominations should be emailed to the APSA Executive Assistant by 5pm Monday 27 June, 2016.  
  4. The decision will be made by a sub-committee chaired by the President of APSA.
  5. The sub-committee may at its discretion seek advice on the standing, national and international, of any nominee.
  6. APSA will name only the winner, not the nominees.
  7. The recipient(s) of the award will be invited to attend the annual APSA Conference dinner, expenses paid, to receive the award.
  8. Life membership of APSA is automatically conferred to recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Recipients of the APSA Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Professor Murray Goot
  • Professor Don Aitkin AO
  • Professor Bruce Davis 
  • Professor David Goldsworthy 
  • Professor Colin Hughes 
  • Professor Dean Jaensch AO
  • Professor Henry Mayer
  • Professor Ian McAllister
  • Professor Trevor Matthews 
  • Professor Pat Weller
  • Emeritus Professor Marian Sawer AO, FASSA