Crisp Prize

The Crisp Prize is awarded biennially. It was last awarded in 2016, and is offered in 2018.  

The Crisp Prize is awarded for the best scholarly political science monograph written by an APSA member within 10 years of gaining a PhD.  The Crisp Prize is open to APSA members who are resident in Australia.

A judging panel chaired by a member of the APSA Executive will award the prize. This panel will consist of at least three people, all of whom will be members of APSA. The prize is biennial, and alternates with the Henry Mayer Book Prize. Nominations can be made by any APSA member (including the author of the book). Nominators/authors are responsible for ensuring that electronic copies of the book are made available to APSA for distribution to members of the judging panel. 

The prize of $1000 and a trophy will be conferred at the annual APSA conference dinner, which in 2018 will be held in Brisbane in July.

To enter: complete the Crisp Prize 2018 Nomination Form and email with a PDF or four electronic copies (if your copies are download codes or ebooks) of the nominated book to by Friday 20 April, 2018

Please contact the APSA National Office if you have any questions.

Past Winners: 

2016: Luke Glanville, ‘Sovereignty and the Responsibility to Protect: A New History’, University of Chicago Press.